Back to All Events

Royal Northern Sinfonia, Assistant Conductor to Lars Vogt

  • The Sage Gateshead: Sage One St. Mary’s Square NE8 2JR United Kingdom (map)

Lars Vogt conductor
Karin Hendrickson assistant conductor
Anna Reszniak violin
Royal Northern Sinfonia

BRAHMS Tragic Overture
BEETHOVEN Romance No.1
MENDELSSOHN Piano Concerto No.1
DVORÁK Symphony No.7

Every music lover knows Dvořák’s symphony ‘from the New World’, but when he wrote his Seventh, he was a lot closer to home – and it shows. Turbulent, passionate and bursting with melody, this is Dvořák at his most heroic, the Czech upstart proudly claiming his place alongside Beethoven and Brahms. So it’s wonderfully appropriate that this concert includes Brahms’s soul-stirring Tragic Overture as well as Beethoven’s Romance. In between, Lars Vogt takes to the keyboard to perform – and at the same time, direct – Mendelssohn’s brilliant First Piano Concerto. It drove Victorian audiences wild: you’ll hear why!