Back to All Events

Royal Northern Sinfonia, Karin Hendrickson, conductor

  • Middlesbrough Town Hall Albert Road Middlesbrough, England, TS1 United Kingdom (map)

Karin Hendrickson  conductor
Kyra Humphreys violin
Steven Hudson oboe
Richard Martin trumpet
Amy Yule flute
Royal Northern Sinfonia

COPLAND: Appalachian Spring Suite
BARBER: Adagio for Strings
BARBER: Capricorn Concerto
PHILIP GLASS: Violin Concerto No. 2 ‘The American Four Seasons’

**PRECONCERT TALK at 6:30pm (Karin Hendrickson, conductor)

This concert has an American theme and includes Copland’s joyous ‘Appalachian Spring’, Barber’s intense ‘Adagio’ for strings and his quirky ‘Capricorn Concerto’. Completing the programme is the Second Violin Concerto of Philip Glass, ‘The American Four Seasons’ an affectionate tribute to Vivaldi, unusual for its use of a synthesiser within the body of strings and adding a modern touch to the music.